web banner velvet3

Contact us

The NZDFA office can be contacted as follows:

New Zealand Deer Farmers Association
Physical address: Level 4 Wellington Chambers 154 Featherston Street, WELLINGTON 6011
Mailing address: PO Box 10702 Wellington 6140
Telephone: +64 (4) 473 4500
Email: nzdfa@deernz.org

 

 
Mark McCoard (Chairman) - elected unopposed 2023
021 848 335
m.mccoard@hotmail.com

 

 
Justin Stevens  - elected unopposed 2023
027 403 7131
jrstevens@actrix.co.nz


Karen Middelberg - elected unopposed 2022
027 518 5442
karen@jedburgh.co.nz

Evan Potter - appointed 2024
027 352 8874
waipapax@gmail.com

The NZDFA represents deer farmers in appointing producer members to the Board of Deer Industry New Zealand. This is done by way of the Selection and Appointments Panel (SAP).

The panel is made up of the four members of the Executive Committee, together with four directly elected members. These four elected members are each appointed for a two year term. The panel also formally meets with its board members on a biannual basis to brief them directly on Association member issues.

The current elected members are as follows:

Donald Whyte - elected 2023
Mount Somers, Ashburton
whytefarming@gmail.com
Phone: 03 614 7131 / 027 450 8525

Andrew Peters - elected 2023
Taihape, Rangitikei District
peters@farmside.co.nz
Phone: 06 388 0929 / 027 388 0039

Dave Lawrence - elected 2024 (2-year term)
Winton, Southland
info@tikana.co.nz
Phone: 027 236 4117

William Oliver - re-elected 2024 (2-year term)
Te Kuiti, Waikato
oliverwhalantrust@gmail.com
Phone: 07 878 6448 / 027 464 4069

The current Chair of the Selection and Appointments Panel is Karen Middelberg.

The complete list of the current regional Branch Chairs from North Island to South Island is listed below and includes both the Elk & Wapiti Society of NZ and the NZ Fallow Deer Society.

If you have any updated information for this list, please email nzdfa@deernz.org with updated details.

NORTH ISLAND CHAIRS

Kaipara
Ian Bristow
p9wood@xtra.co.nz
Ph: 09 420 2852 / 027 497 9876

Waikato
Catherine Morrow
catherine@farmside.co.nz
Ph: 07 827 3787 / 027 272 3151

Waipa
Mike Ferrier
michaelferrier@xtra.co.nz
Ph: 07 873 0987 / 027 4644 063

Bay of Plenty
Liz Love
liz.love@xtra.co.nz
Ph: 021 216 0731

Poverty Bay
Tom Sanson
goldcreek@gisborne.net.nz
Ph: 06 863 1444 / 027 248 9098

Hawke’s Bay
Evan Potter
waipapax@gmail.com
Ph: 06 835 0094 / 027 352 8874

Taranaki
Rex Cowley
r.cowley@xtra.co.nz
Ph: 06 755 2551 / 027 495 7729

Central Regions
Mike Humphrey
mick.g.humphrey@gmail.com
Ph: 06 328 8860 / 021 886 065

Taihape Ruapehu
Sean de Lacy
kiwiboy72@hotmail.com
Ph: 027 778 1669

Wairarapa
Mike Allen
allens.deer@gmail.com
Ph: 06 372 7706 / 020 4112 9809

SOUTH ISLAND CHAIRS

Nelson
Tony Peacock
tpeacock544@gmail.com
Ph: 03 523 9544 / 027 429 6551

Marlborough
Geoff Hayes
geoff.hazy@gmail.com
Ph: 027 241 3633

Canterbury/West Coast
Lorna Humm 
lorna@agvelocity.com
Ph: 021 150 1658

South Canterbury/North Otago
Mark Tapley
mark@pfe.nz
Ph: 027 779 9008

Otago
Richard Currie
richard@blackforest.co.nz
Ph: 03 205 8166 / 027 276 0664

Southland
Bruce Allan
grandviewdeer@gmail.com
Ph: 03 208 8091 / 027 824 5898

SOCIETIES CHAIR

Elk & Wapiti Society
Grant Hasse
elkwapitinz@gmail.com
Ph: 027 224 5542

NZ Fallow Deer Society (currently in recess)
Ian Bristow
p9wood@xtra.co.nz
Ph: 09 420 2852 / 027 497 9876

Last updated 24-01-23

Back to NZDFA Home